The ‘Cork Station’ 6CK opened on April 26th 1927 as a 1kw sister station to the Dublin-based 2RN. The fledgling network was a forerunner to what we now know as RTÉ Radio 1.
The station, under the stewardship of Seán Neeson, was launched by J.J. Walsh, Minister for Posts and Telegraphs.
6CK was originally located in the former Womens’ Gaol in Sunday’s Well which now houses “The Radio Museum Experience”.
6CK mainly relayed 2RN programming and produced some of it’s own programmes for the network.
6CK remained on air until September 1930 when it became part of the Radio Éireann network and the transmitter remained in place as a relay for many years thereafter.