Sugar FM

Dublin’s Sweetest Music Mix

Sugar FM was a Dublin pirate radio station who were dogged with bad luck for the whole of their short existence. Born out of Freedom FM’s Black Tuesday ashes, they had been testing since October 2003 with continuous music before finally giving the station an identity in the form of Sugar FM in January 2004.

Equipment problems were the cause of the delayed launch but they finally went live with their mix of chart, dance and R&B music for the first time on January 28th from their studios in Blackrock. Live broadcasts continued sporadically until the station officially launched on March 1st under the stewardship of station owners Al Murray and Ivano Cafello and station manager Jason McKay.

However, it wasn’t long before they found out they would have to vacate the 92.0FM frequency that they occupied thanks to a new licensed station coming on air on 92.1MHz. They first moved to 93.2MHz FM but protests from an existing pirate station broadcasting on and off on low power led them to move to 98.4MHz, where they lasted only a few hours thanks to a complaint from 98FM. By the middle of March they had settled on 91.0MHz, and broadcast for a few months before government raids forced the station off air for good in July 2004.

Images from the station’s Blackock studios by kind courtesy of Mike O’Brien (tap for full size)

Names associated with Sugar FM:
Al Murray; Andy Walker; Barry Clarke; Brian Butterly; Damien Cook; Dave C; Dell Fortune; Elaine Kane; Gar Skelly; Ivano Cafolla; Jason McKay; Jay Alexander; Louise Scott; Mike O’Brien; Nick Flanagan; Paolo Cafolla; Paul Byrne; Rafiq Maniar; Rob Brady; Sara Nelson; Simon Davies; Shane Lavelle; Wayne Scales

Is there anything you can add to the information above?
Or do you know of a station not listed in the database?
Please send any updates, from the seemingly trivial to full station histories, using the form below.
Images etc can also be sent to

Station Update